{Absurd Confrontations} Latin vs Korean/Japanese

Hello! Here I am with my first actual post on this blog. Today I was looking through my old school books, a new school year is about to start and I need to make some space for the new ones. I came across my old Latin book and flipping through the pages I started to remember all the grammar that made me cry for 2 years. For Italian students Latin had always been a pain in the lower back,  for me too. But to be honest, if it wasn’t for Latin probably all my linguistic knowledge would be pretty low… Latin isn’t really necessary in everyday life, you definitely can live without it! But for some reason, it helped me a lot with Japanese and Korean, making study a little bit more easy for me!

The first similar thing that comes to my mind is the sentence structure:

Subject-Object-Verb

It is the same thing in Korean and Japanese! And also you can express a completely logical sentence just saying the Verb. It works pretty much like this in Latin too, even if it is a bit more complicated but that’s another topic^^`

Also another similarity could be that every word in a  sentence have their own function and it is clearly highlighted by a particle or a modification of the word itself.

I eat an apple.

私はりんごを食べる.

나는 사과를 먹어.

As you can see in English there is nothing to signalize the function of every word but in both Korean and Japanese there is…

It can be pretty confusing at first, because we aren’t used to use them in English but I think it’s all about logic and with time particles won’t be a problem anymore^^v

Sorry for the long and tedious post, I just love to compare languages, and this time I just wanted to share my thoughts about them. I hope it was interesting enough, let me know what you think!

Now I am off to try to stop hiccups, any suggestion?

Ps. Hiccup(→しゃっくり、딸꾹질)

4 thoughts on “{Absurd Confrontations} Latin vs Korean/Japanese

  1. I super hate Latin, if we’re to talk about it >.<" It was a pain in the freakin' ass for 5 years TT.TT And I somehow hold a grunge against it for being so OLD that it made other languages go after its grammar rules, you know? I noticed the similarities between Latin and Asian languages back when I was studying Japanese and it made it a little harder for me to study it since I absolutely hate Latin 😦
    *sigh* I wish they weren't similar in word positioning wise…

    • I’ve hated it too… But you know me, I am a total language geek, I just wanted to share.. Unfortunately the similarities are there and we can’t do nothing about it^^` I am sure that when you will study Korean you will take it with a total another approach! and most of all Korean is useful and can be used unlike Latin xP
      Don’t hate me for this post^^`

  2. マジで興味深いなー。ラテンもSOVだったなんて知らなかったよ。日本ではまず習わないし見たこともない。ラテンについて語れる日本人もたぶんそんなにいないだろうしね。マジで勉強になったよ!

    まぁ、俺も結構長いこと英語の勉強してて、ちょっと翻訳とかもやってたけど、時々、英語って日本語と比べたら少し淋しい言語だなって思うことがあるよ。なんか文法とか理論的すぎて数学みたいに感じるんだよね…実際。「この場合は…ん?単数?複数?冠詞はthe? a? それとも無冠詞?数学かよ!?」みたいに。それに日本語みたく主語や目的語を原則的には省いたらダメだしさ。融通性に欠ける所が随分多い。それに比べて、日本語は主語を省くことの方が多いかも。目的語もいらなかったりするし、時には動詞もイラないときもある。それは日本ってのは「言葉を駆使しなくても言いたいことが分かっちゃう文化」なんだよね。全部言わなくても理解できる、つまり日本人には、それだけ共通体験や共通認識があって、それを背景にして会話をしてるってことなんだ。そういう意味で、日本語は英語よりもかなり「ハイコンテクスト(high context)」。んで、英語圏は日本ほど共通認識や共通体験が薄いらしく「ローコンテクスト(low context)」。だから言葉に頼って、多くを話す傾向にあるらしいね。話しをするとき、日本語では「聞き手(listener)」の方に責任が、英語では「話し手(speaker)」の方に責任があるらしいね。うん、確かにそれはあるかも。まぁ、話の上手い下手もあるだろうけどね。
    俺なりに英語と日本語を比較してみたのだ!

    おっと、もうこんな時間、夜中の1時半って、んじゃ、そろそろ。(←there are no verbs in the sentence, but you can understand what I want to say, right?)

    • I didn’t know this post would have given start to this discussion^^
      Of course there are various way to compare languages, In this case it was a little bit difficult because Latin and Japanese/Korean come from two completely different roots! I noticed that the so called logic languages are the ones that need to highlight the grammar functions. あたしなら、6語を勉強してるからちょっとそんな考えあるね!そうすれば勉強もっと簡単になると思う。

Leave a Reply

